Petite Sirloin Steak with Mushroom-Stilton Sauce

Stilton is the English version of bleu cheese. Although it is made from the same ingredients using the same mold culture as French Roquefort, it has a unique flavor and texture. To me, Stilton has a particular affinity for steak. In this simple recipe I combine it with sautéed mushrooms to make a light, tasty sauce for a classic steak dinner.

Ingredients

2 petite top sirloin steaks, about 5 ounce each, 1-inch thick

12 ounces firm white or gold potatoes

8 ounces mushrooms

Unsalted butter

Extra virgin olive oil

¼ cup crumbled Stilton

Brandy

Salt and pepper

Method

Scrub the potatoes and cut into roughly 1-inch cubes. Toss with a bit of olive oil, kosher salt, and freshly-ground black pepper.  Spread out onto a lightly oiled baking sheet and roast for about 45 minutes at 375° (350° for convection).

Season the steaks with kosher salt and freshly ground pepper. Clean and slice the mushrooms. In stages to avoid warping, heat a cast iron skillet until very hot.  Heat some olive oil and butter in a non-stick frying pan.  Add the mushrooms, sprinkle with a generous pinch of kosher salt and sauté, tossing regularly.  When the cast iron skillet is very hot add a splash of olive oil and 1 tbsp. butter. Add the steaks and cook for about 3 minutes on a side until medium.  Remove to a plate and cover loosely with foil to rest.

Pour the butter and oil remaining in the skillet in which you cooked the steaks into the fry pan with the mushrooms. Pour in about ¼ cup of brandy and tilt over the burner to set alight. When the flames have subsided, add the Stilton to the pan and stir until melted and combined.

Serve the mushrooms over the steak accompanied by the roasted potatoes.

2 responses to “Petite Sirloin Steak with Mushroom-Stilton Sauce

  1. Michelle September 10, 2010 at 17:52

    Yummy, you can’t go wrong with steak and mushrooms. I’ll have to try the sauce. I don’t know if I’ll be able to get the cheese though. I’m also glad to see that you’re cooking with cast iron. Although cast iron is wicked heavy, I love it. I only have 2 pans right now. A round griddle and a large fryer that I found at the red barn in Conway this past summer, it was all rusted and gross looking. But I took it home, cleaned it up and seasoned it and it cooks great. I think I paid like 8 bucks for it or something, and its a good sized one too. Every time I go out to a thrift shop or something I try to see if they have any as I am trying to add more pieces on the cheap.

  2. ljcny September 10, 2010 at 18:41

    Stilton is easy to find. I bought mine at Sam’s Club. You can always use another bleu like Roquefort, gorgonzola, or just plain supermarket blue cheese. And you could use some red wine or stock in place of the brandy but it won’t be nearly as much fun as scaring the cats with the flames!

    I love my cast iron cookware and since Glenda and I each had pretty complete kitchens I have lots to work with. Last I looked we had a couple 10″ and 8″ skillets, a Dutch oven, and a deep chicken fryer. Plus my stove has a cast iron griddle that fits in the middle of the top. But because older persons are advised to reduce the amount of iron in their diets I use my enameled Dutch ovens more than than the bare cast iron one. The ones I have, 3-quart and 5-quart, are made by CuisinArt and were much less expensive than Le Cruest. Watch Home Goods; that’s where I got mine. But for plain cast iron cookware yard sales are the way to go!

Leave a Reply

