Latkes

Last night was the first night of Chanukah so I made latkes in honor of my Jewish friends and family members. My friend Marti was kind enough to send me a link to her favorite recipe at the Web site of Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown Baltimore from which I adapted my version. Yes, I know, garlic is not traditional in latkes but 1) I like garlic and 2) not being Jewish myself I do not have the little voice of a Bubbie in my head telling me I can’t use it (I have other little voices but that is a different conversation). A word of warning: do not make more than you want to eat because you will be able to stop eating them until they are gone!

Ingredients

  • 2 or 3 gloves garlic
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 large, 3 medium, or 4 small russet potatoes, about 1½ pounds, peeled
  • 2 eggs
  •  ¼ cup flour (I used white rice flour to make the latkes gluten-free)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  •  ½ tsp. pepper
  •  Oil for frying

Method

Note: you can either chop the onion with the chopper blade in the food processor or grate it with the potatoes. In the latter case you may have to remove some large ungrated pieces.

Put a cooling rack onto a baking sheet and place in the oven. Preheat to 200°.

Peel the garlic and chop in a food processor. Remove the chopping blade and install a grating disc. Grate potatoes and onion. Place in a colander and squeeze out as much water as possible then lay on a clean kitchen towel and twist to remove as much more of the liquid as you can.

In a large bowl lightly beat the eggs. Add the potato mixture, sprinkle with flour, salt, and pepper, and mix well.

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat and add ¼ inch of oil. Place a large tablespoonful of batter into the oil for each latke, pressing with a spatula into a 3-inch disc (I found that I could do 3 at a time comfortably in a 10-inch skillet). Cook until golden and crispy, about 3 minutes per side. Remove to cooling rack in the oven and continue with the next batch.

Serve with applesauce on the side.

Leave a Reply

