Clam Glop

A friend once pointed out—correctly I must admit—that my refrigerator contained no food, just ingredients. That being the case, even a simple I-don’t-feel-like-cooking meal requires a bit of ingenuity. My usual fall back is Tuna Glop. This is a variation on that theme using a can of minced clams instead of canned tuna and Old Bay® seasoning in place of curry powder. If you are really in a hurry you can throw in some dried minced onions rather than taking the time to sauté fresh ones.

Ingredients

  • Olive oil, about one tablespoon
  • One medium onion, minced
  • One cup long grain rice
  • One 6½ ounce can minced clams in clam juice
  • One half cup frozen peas
  • One tablespoon Old Bay® seasoning
  • Two cups water
  • Black pepper to taste

Method

Heat a bit of olive oil in a heavy-bottomed saucepan with a tightly-fitting lid and sauté the onion until softened. Add the rice and fry for a couple of minutes then stir in the clams with their juice and the peas. Season with the Old Bay® then add the water and black pepper to taste. Bring to a boil, cover, and let simmer over very low heat for about twenty minutes.

 

3 responses to “Clam Glop

  1. Karen May 2, 2012 at 20:23

    I’m glad that you are back from your break. I do have to laugh that your first post is about glob. Too funny…I was expecting something exotic.

  2. Leo Cotnoir May 2, 2012 at 21:33

    Exotic is good; quick and tasty–priceless! I’m in the throes of a kitchen remodeling which has been distracting me.

  3. Karen May 3, 2012 at 14:57

    Kitchen remodeling is very distracting. By the way I meant to say glop….typing to fast I guess.

Leave a Reply

